Colorado Overtime Pay Laws - CO Labor Law - 2014
Overtime pay is additional pay granted to employees who have worked over a certain amount of hours in a given timeframe. Employers in Colorado must adhere to both federal and state overtime regulations defining how much overtime must be paid, and which employees are entitled to overtime pay.
Non-exempt employees in Colorado are entitled to overtime pay of 1.5 times their average hourly rate for every hour worked over 40 in a single week, as well as for every hour worked over a total of 12 in a single day. Based on the Colorado minimum wage of $8.00 per hour, the minimum amount any Colorado worker should receive as overtime pay is $12.00 per hour.
Some employees are exempt from overtime, and therefore can be asked to work more then 40 hours a week , or 8 hours a day, without receiving overtime pay. Some overtime-exempt jobs are specified in federal overtime law, such as most white collar jobs, while other exemptions are specific to Colorado's state overtime laws.
Colorado establishes a daily overtime threshold of 12 hours per day in addition to the standard weekly threshold of 40 hours per week. A special overtime threshold of 80 hours per 14 days applies to hospital and nursing home employees. Medical transportation personnel are exempt from the daily 12 hour overtime threshold.
A number of professions are exempt from Colorado's overtime laws, including salespeople (who earn more then 1 1/2 times the minimum wage), automobile mechanics, and some commissioned employees. Ski industry employees are exempt from weekly overtime pay, but must still be paid overtime for working more then 12 hours in a single day.
Colorado Overtime Calculator
To calculate your weekly overtime pay, enter your normal hourly wage and the weekly number of hours you worked into the CO overtime calculator. Your overtime pay will then be calculated and displayed.
Unpaid Overtime in Colorado
If your employer has not paid you overtime and you believe you are entitled to overtime pay for the work you have done, there are steps you can take to ensure that you are paid what you deserve. First check Colorado state overtime law as well as federal overtime exemptions to ensure that your occupation is not exempt from overtime, and ask your employer directly why you were not paid.
If you are sure that you are entitled to overtime that has not been paid and are unable to work out an agreement with your employer directly, your next step is to contact the Colorado Department of Labor with an unpaid overtime claim form. You can contact the Colorado Department of Labor office here:
Colorado Department of Labor
633 17th Street, Suite 200
Denver, CO 80202-3660
Document Tags: CO Overtime, Colorado Overtime Rule, CO Overtime Regulations, State of Colorado Overtime Laws
Need more information? Find overtime law in other states.