Connecticut Overtime Pay Laws - CT Labor Law - 2016
Overtime pay is additional pay granted to employees who have worked over a certain amount of hours in a given timeframe. Employers in Connecticut must adhere to both federal and state overtime regulations defining how much overtime must be paid, and which employees are entitled to overtime pay.
Non-exempt employees in Connecticut are entitled to overtime pay of 1.5 times their average hourly rate for every hour worked over 40 in a single week. Based on the Connecticut minimum wage of $9.60 per hour, the minimum amount any Connecticut worker should receive as overtime pay is $14.40 per hour.
Some employees are exempt from overtime, and therefore can be asked to work more then 40 hours a week without receiving overtime pay. Some overtime-exempt jobs are specified in federal overtime law, such as most white collar jobs, while other exemptions are specific to Connecticut's state overtime laws.
Overtime is paid after 40 hours of actual work in the same work week. It is calculated at one and one-half times your regular rate of pay, or $14.40 for minimum wage. Connecticut allows employers to count certain types of bonus or premium compensation against the required overtime rate for their employees. Special overtime rules exist for several types of occupations. For more information click here.
Connecticut Overtime Calculator
To calculate your weekly overtime pay, enter your normal hourly wage and the weekly number of hours you worked into the CT overtime calculator. Your overtime pay will then be calculated and displayed.
Unpaid Overtime in Connecticut
If your employer has not paid you overtime and you believe you are entitled to overtime pay for the work you have done, there are steps you can take to ensure that you are paid what you deserve. First check Connecticut state overtime law as well as federal overtime exemptions to ensure that your occupation is not exempt from overtime, and ask your employer directly why you were not paid.
If you are sure that you are entitled to overtime that has not been paid and are unable to work out an agreement with your employer directly, your next step is to contact the Connecticut Department of Labor with an unpaid overtime claim form. You can contact the Connecticut Department of Labor office here:
Document Tags: CT Overtime, Connecticut Overtime Rule, CT Overtime Regulations, State of Connecticut Overtime Laws
Need more information? Find overtime law in other states.