FL overtime laws 2014 Florida Overtime Pay Laws - FL Labor Law - 2014

Overtime pay is additional pay granted to employees who have worked over a certain amount of hours in a given timeframe. Employers in Florida must adhere to both federal and state overtime regulations defining how much overtime must be paid, and which employees are entitled to overtime pay.

Non-exempt employees in Florida are entitled to overtime pay of 1.5 times their average hourly rate for every hour worked over 40 in a single week. Based on the Florida minimum wage of $7.93 per hour, the minimum amount any Florida worker should receive as overtime pay is $11.90 per hour.

Some employees are exempt from overtime, and therefore can be asked to work more then 40 hours a week without receiving overtime pay. Some overtime-exempt jobs are specified in federal overtime law, such as most white collar jobs, while other exemptions are specific to Florida's state overtime laws.

In addition to guaranteeing overtime for all hours worked over 40 in a single week, Florida requires that manual laborers working more then 10 hours in a single day receive overtime pay for those hours as well.

Florida Overtime Calculator

Hours Worked:
Hourly Wage:
Florida Overtime Calculator Tool

To calculate your weekly overtime pay, enter your normal hourly wage and the weekly number of hours you worked into the FL overtime calculator. Your overtime pay will then be calculated and displayed.

Unpaid Overtime in Florida

If your employer has not paid you overtime and you believe you are entitled to overtime pay for the work you have done, there are steps you can take to ensure that you are paid what you deserve. First check Florida state overtime law as well as federal overtime exemptions to ensure that your occupation is not exempt from overtime, and ask your employer directly why you were not paid.

If you are sure that you are entitled to overtime that has not been paid and are unable to work out an agreement with your employer directly, your next step is to contact the Florida Department of Labor with an unpaid overtime claim form. You can contact the Florida Department of Labor office here:

Agency for Workforce Innovation
107 East Madison Street
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-4120
Tel. 850.245.7105

Document Tags: FL Overtime, Florida Overtime Rule, FL Overtime Regulations, State of Florida Overtime Laws

Get more info on overtime law Need more information? Find overtime law in other states.