Kansas Overtime Pay Laws - KS Labor Law - 2015
Overtime pay is additional pay granted to employees who have worked over a certain amount of hours in a given timeframe. Employers in Kansas must adhere to both federal and state overtime regulations defining how much overtime must be paid, and which employees are entitled to overtime pay.
Non-exempt employees in Kansas are entitled to overtime pay of 1.5 times their average hourly rate for every hour worked over 40 in a single week. Based on the Kansas minimum wage of $7.25 per hour, the minimum amount any Kansas worker should receive as overtime pay is $10.88 per hour.
Some employees are exempt from overtime, and therefore can be asked to work more then 40 hours a week without receiving overtime pay. Some overtime-exempt jobs are specified in federal overtime law, such as most white collar jobs, while other exemptions are specific to Kansas's state overtime laws.
Kentucky overtime law requires that all employees who have worked seven days in a row be paid time-and-a-half pay for all hours worked on the seventh day (with a few exceptions). A varity of employees are completely exempt from Kentucky's overtime laws, including the immediate family of the employer, commissioned salespeople, domestic workers, learners and students, disabled workers, taxi drivers, farm laborers, employees at seasonal camps, mechanics, and newspaper deliverers. Employees in certain retail stores, hotels and motels, and restaraunts are also exempt, as are any employees who are already exempt from kentucky's minimum wage laws.
Kansas Overtime Calculator
To calculate your weekly overtime pay, enter your normal hourly wage and the weekly number of hours you worked into the KS overtime calculator. Your overtime pay will then be calculated and displayed.
Unpaid Overtime in Kansas
If your employer has not paid you overtime and you believe you are entitled to overtime pay for the work you have done, there are steps you can take to ensure that you are paid what you deserve. First check Kansas state overtime law as well as federal overtime exemptions to ensure that your occupation is not exempt from overtime, and ask your employer directly why you were not paid.
If you are sure that you are entitled to overtime that has not been paid and are unable to work out an agreement with your employer directly, your next step is to contact the Kansas Department of Labor with an unpaid overtime claim form. You can contact the Kansas Department of Labor office here:
Document Tags: KS Overtime, Kansas Overtime Rule, KS Overtime Regulations, State of Kansas Overtime Laws
Need more information? Find overtime law in other states.