Maine Overtime Pay Laws - ME Labor Law - 2015
Overtime pay is additional pay granted to employees who have worked over a certain amount of hours in a given timeframe. Employers in Maine must adhere to both federal and state overtime regulations defining how much overtime must be paid, and which employees are entitled to overtime pay.
Non-exempt employees in Maine are entitled to overtime pay of 1.5 times their average hourly rate for every hour worked over 40 in a single week. Based on the Maine minimum wage of $7.50 per hour, the minimum amount any Maine worker should receive as overtime pay is $11.25 per hour.
Some employees are exempt from overtime, and therefore can be asked to work more then 40 hours a week without receiving overtime pay. Some overtime-exempt jobs are specified in federal overtime law, such as most white collar jobs, while other exemptions are specific to Maine's state overtime laws.
Maine exempts a collection of occupations from overtime entirely, including taxi drivers, certain salespeople, all farm workers, under-18 camp counselors, automobile mechanics, salespeople, and some drivers, members of the employer's immediate family, and employees involved in the perishable, agricultural, or meat/fish industries. Any employee classified as a white-collar executive, professional, or administrative worker is also exempt from Maine overtime laws as per the federal FLSA.
Maine Overtime Calculator
To calculate your weekly overtime pay, enter your normal hourly wage and the weekly number of hours you worked into the ME overtime calculator. Your overtime pay will then be calculated and displayed.
Unpaid Overtime in Maine
If your employer has not paid you overtime and you believe you are entitled to overtime pay for the work you have done, there are steps you can take to ensure that you are paid what you deserve. First check Maine state overtime law as well as federal overtime exemptions to ensure that your occupation is not exempt from overtime, and ask your employer directly why you were not paid.
If you are sure that you are entitled to overtime that has not been paid and are unable to work out an agreement with your employer directly, your next step is to contact the Maine Department of Labor with an unpaid overtime claim form. You can contact the Maine Department of Labor office here:
Maine Depertment of Labor
54 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333
Tel. (207) 623-7900
Document Tags: ME Overtime, Maine Overtime Rule, ME Overtime Regulations, State of Maine Overtime Laws
Need more information? Find overtime law in other states.