Michigan Overtime Pay Laws - MI Labor Law - 2014
Overtime pay is additional pay granted to employees who have worked over a certain amount of hours in a given timeframe. Employers in Michigan must adhere to both federal and state overtime regulations defining how much overtime must be paid, and which employees are entitled to overtime pay.
Non-exempt employees in Michigan are entitled to overtime pay of 1.5 times their average hourly rate for every hour worked over 40 in a single week. Based on the Michigan minimum wage of $7.40 per hour, the minimum amount any Michigan worker should receive as overtime pay is $11.10 per hour.
Some employees are exempt from overtime, and therefore can be asked to work more then 40 hours a week without receiving overtime pay. Some overtime-exempt jobs are specified in federal overtime law, such as most white collar jobs, while other exemptions are specific to Michigan's state overtime laws.
Michigan overtime law applies to all businesses with two or more employees. Farm and agricultural workers, elected officials, seasonal camp workers, and under-18 childcare providers are all exempt from overtime completely, as are most white collar workers and anyone who is already exempted from Michigan's minimum wage law.
Michigan also establishes that employees can be compensated for overtime with 1 1/2 hours of compensatory time off instead of overtime pay for every overtime hour worked, if an agreement stating such has been made between the employee's collective bargaining representative and the employer.
Michigan Overtime Calculator
To calculate your weekly overtime pay, enter your normal hourly wage and the weekly number of hours you worked into the MI overtime calculator. Your overtime pay will then be calculated and displayed.
Unpaid Overtime in Michigan
If your employer has not paid you overtime and you believe you are entitled to overtime pay for the work you have done, there are steps you can take to ensure that you are paid what you deserve. First check Michigan state overtime law as well as federal overtime exemptions to ensure that your occupation is not exempt from overtime, and ask your employer directly why you were not paid.
If you are sure that you are entitled to overtime that has not been paid and are unable to work out an agreement with your employer directly, your next step is to contact the Michigan Department of Labor with an unpaid overtime claim form. You can contact the Michigan Department of Labor office here:
MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
P.O. BOX 30476
LANSING, MI 48909-7976
Document Tags: MI Overtime, Michigan Overtime Rule, MI Overtime Regulations, State of Michigan Overtime Laws
Need more information? Find overtime law in other states.