MS overtime laws 2016 Mississippi Overtime Pay Laws - MS Labor Law - 2016

Overtime pay is additional pay granted to employees who have worked over a certain amount of hours in a given timeframe. Employers in Mississippi must adhere to both federal and state overtime regulations defining how much overtime must be paid, and which employees are entitled to overtime pay.

Non-exempt employees in Mississippi are entitled to overtime pay of 1.5 times their average hourly rate for every hour worked over 40 in a single week. Based on the Mississippi minimum wage of $7.25 per hour, the minimum amount any Mississippi worker should receive as overtime pay is $10.88 per hour.

Some employees are exempt from overtime, and therefore can be asked to work more then 40 hours a week without receiving overtime pay. Some overtime-exempt jobs are specified in federal overtime law, such as most white collar jobs, while other exemptions are specific to Mississippi's state overtime laws.

Mississippi subscribes to the Fair Labor Standard Act (FLSA)'s overtime statutes, and does not have any state-specific legislation.

Mississippi Overtime Calculator

Hours Worked:
Hourly Wage:
Mississippi Overtime Calculator Tool

To calculate your weekly overtime pay, enter your normal hourly wage and the weekly number of hours you worked into the MS overtime calculator. Your overtime pay will then be calculated and displayed.

Unpaid Overtime in Mississippi

If your employer has not paid you overtime and you believe you are entitled to overtime pay for the work you have done, there are steps you can take to ensure that you are paid what you deserve. First check Mississippi state overtime law as well as federal overtime exemptions to ensure that your occupation is not exempt from overtime, and ask your employer directly why you were not paid.

If you are sure that you are entitled to overtime that has not been paid and are unable to work out an agreement with your employer directly, your next step is to contact the Mississippi Department of Labor with an unpaid overtime claim form. You can contact the Mississippi Department of Labor office here:

Document Tags: MS Overtime, Mississippi Overtime Rule, MS Overtime Regulations, State of Mississippi Overtime Laws

Need more information? Find overtime law in other states.