MO overtime laws 2021 Missouri Overtime Pay Laws - MO Labor Law - 2021

Overtime pay is additional pay granted to employees who have worked over a certain amount of hours in a given timeframe. Employers in Missouri must adhere to both federal and state overtime regulations defining how much overtime must be paid, and which employees are entitled to overtime pay.

Non-exempt employees in Missouri are entitled to overtime pay of 1.5 times their average hourly rate for every hour worked over 40 in a single week. Based on the Missouri minimum wage of $7.65 per hour, the minimum amount any Missouri worker should receive as overtime pay is $11.48 per hour.

Some employees are exempt from overtime, and therefore can be asked to work more then 40 hours a week without receiving overtime pay. Some overtime-exempt jobs are specified in federal overtime law, such as most white collar jobs, while other exemptions are specific to Missouri's state overtime laws.

Overtime pay begins once an employee works more than 40 hours in a work week rather than more than 8 hours in a work day. Overtime pay is 1 times the hourly rate or $11.47 for minimum wage workers. State and federal law does not allow employees to voluntarily waive their rights to overtime pay and accept straight time instead. Missouri sets a special overtime threshold for employees of amusement or recreation areas of 52 hours per week, in contrast to many other states which completely exempt them from overtime pay. Missouri's overtime exemptions include white collar employees, seasonal day camp employees, some domestic workers, handicapped workers in a sheltered workshop, commissioned salespeople, and some retail and service workers. Employees exempted from the Minimum Wage are also exempted from overtime laws.

Missouri Overtime Calculator

Hours Worked:
Hourly Wage:
Missouri Overtime Calculator Tool

To calculate your weekly overtime pay, enter your normal hourly wage and the weekly number of hours you worked into the MO overtime calculator. Your overtime pay will then be calculated and displayed.

Unpaid Overtime in Missouri

If your employer has not paid you overtime and you believe you are entitled to overtime pay for the work you have done, there are steps you can take to ensure that you are paid what you deserve. First check Missouri state overtime law as well as federal overtime exemptions to ensure that your occupation is not exempt from overtime, and ask your employer directly why you were not paid.

If you are sure that you are entitled to overtime that has not been paid and are unable to work out an agreement with your employer directly, your next step is to contact the Missouri Department of Labor with an unpaid overtime claim form. You can contact the Missouri Department of Labor office here:

Document Tags: MO Overtime, Missouri Overtime Rule, MO Overtime Regulations, State of Missouri Overtime Laws

Get more info on overtime law Need more information? Find overtime law in other states.