Nevada Overtime Pay Laws - NV Labor Law - 2013
Overtime pay is additional pay granted to employees who have worked over a certain amount of hours in a given timeframe. Employers in Nevada must adhere to both federal and state overtime regulations defining how much overtime must be paid, and which employees are entitled to overtime pay.
Non-exempt employees in Nevada are entitled to overtime pay of 1.5 times their average hourly rate for every hour worked over 40 in a single week, as well as for every hour worked over a total of 8 in a single day. Based on the Nevada minimum wage of $8.25 per hour, the minimum amount any Nevada worker should receive as overtime pay is $12.38 per hour.
Some employees are exempt from overtime, and therefore can be asked to work more then 40 hours a week , or 8 hours a day, without receiving overtime pay. Some overtime-exempt jobs are specified in federal overtime law, such as most white collar jobs, while other exemptions are specific to Nevada's state overtime laws.
Nevada overtime law requires all employees working more then 40 hours a week or 8 hours a day to be paid time-and-a-half wages for any additional hours worked. Daily overtime applies for workers earning less then $12.38 per hour (or $10.89 per hour with health benefits).
Some employees are not covered under Nevada's overtime laws, including commissioned salespeople earning over 1 1/2 times the minimum wage, drivers and mechanics, railroad workers, air carrier workers, taxi and limo drivers, agricultural and farm workers, and automobile salespeople.
Additional exemptions exist for businesses earning under $250,000 annually, employees who are already exemot from Nevada's minimum wage statutes, and any employee who is covered by an alternative overtime agreement reached through approved collective bargaining.
Nevada Overtime Calculator
To calculate your weekly overtime pay, enter your normal hourly wage and the weekly number of hours you worked into the NV overtime calculator. Your overtime pay will then be calculated and displayed.
Unpaid Overtime in Nevada
If your employer has not paid you overtime and you believe you are entitled to overtime pay for the work you have done, there are steps you can take to ensure that you are paid what you deserve. First check Nevada state overtime law as well as federal overtime exemptions to ensure that your occupation is not exempt from overtime, and ask your employer directly why you were not paid.
If you are sure that you are entitled to overtime that has not been paid and are unable to work out an agreement with your employer directly, your next step is to contact the Nevada Department of Labor with an unpaid overtime claim form. You can contact the Nevada Department of Labor office here:
Office of the Labor Commissioner
555 E. Washington Ave. Suite 4100
Las Vegas, NV 89101
Document Tags: NV Overtime, Nevada Overtime Rule, NV Overtime Regulations, State of Nevada Overtime Laws
Need more information? Find overtime law in other states.