New Hampshire Overtime Pay Laws - NH Labor Law - 2013
Overtime pay is additional pay granted to employees who have worked over a certain amount of hours in a given timeframe. Employers in New Hampshire must adhere to both federal and state overtime regulations defining how much overtime must be paid, and which employees are entitled to overtime pay.
Non-exempt employees in New Hampshire are entitled to overtime pay of 1.5 times their average hourly rate for every hour worked over 40 in a single week. Based on the New Hampshire minimum wage of $7.25 per hour, the minimum amount any New Hampshire worker should receive as overtime pay is $10.88 per hour.
Some employees are exempt from overtime, and therefore can be asked to work more then 40 hours a week without receiving overtime pay. Some overtime-exempt jobs are specified in federal overtime law, such as most white collar jobs, while other exemptions are specific to New Hampshire's state overtime laws.
Any employee who works at a seasonal recreation or amusement establishment (earning at least 66% of its income in a 6-month period), is exempt from New Hampshire's state overtime laws. Additional labor law prevents employers from requiring nurses or nurse assistants to work mandatory overtime (although they can work overtime if they wish). There are no restrictions on overtime for any other occupation in New Hampshire.
New Hampshire Overtime Calculator
To calculate your weekly overtime pay, enter your normal hourly wage and the weekly number of hours you worked into the NH overtime calculator. Your overtime pay will then be calculated and displayed.
Unpaid Overtime in New Hampshire
If your employer has not paid you overtime and you believe you are entitled to overtime pay for the work you have done, there are steps you can take to ensure that you are paid what you deserve. First check New Hampshire state overtime law as well as federal overtime exemptions to ensure that your occupation is not exempt from overtime, and ask your employer directly why you were not paid.
If you are sure that you are entitled to overtime that has not been paid and are unable to work out an agreement with your employer directly, your next step is to contact the New Hampshire Department of Labor with an unpaid overtime claim form. You can contact the New Hampshire Department of Labor office here:
New Hampshire Department of Labor
95 Pleasant Street
Concord, NH 03301
Tel. (603) 271-3176
Document Tags: NH Overtime, New Hampshire Overtime Rule, NH Overtime Regulations, State of New Hampshire Overtime Laws
Need more information? Find overtime law in other states.