NM overtime laws 2014 New Mexico Overtime Pay Laws - NM Labor Law - 2014

Overtime pay is additional pay granted to employees who have worked over a certain amount of hours in a given timeframe. Employers in New Mexico must adhere to both federal and state overtime regulations defining how much overtime must be paid, and which employees are entitled to overtime pay.

Non-exempt employees in New Mexico are entitled to overtime pay of 1.5 times their average hourly rate for every hour worked over 40 in a single week. Based on the New Mexico minimum wage of $7.50 per hour, the minimum amount any New Mexico worker should receive as overtime pay is $11.25 per hour.

Some employees are exempt from overtime, and therefore can be asked to work more then 40 hours a week without receiving overtime pay. Some overtime-exempt jobs are specified in federal overtime law, such as most white collar jobs, while other exemptions are specific to New Mexico's state overtime laws.

New Mexico exempts farm and agricultural workers as well as part-time cotton ginning workers from overtime pay.

New Mexico Overtime Calculator

Hours Worked:
Hourly Wage:
New Mexico Overtime Calculator Tool

To calculate your weekly overtime pay, enter your normal hourly wage and the weekly number of hours you worked into the NM overtime calculator. Your overtime pay will then be calculated and displayed.

Unpaid Overtime in New Mexico

If your employer has not paid you overtime and you believe you are entitled to overtime pay for the work you have done, there are steps you can take to ensure that you are paid what you deserve. First check New Mexico state overtime law as well as federal overtime exemptions to ensure that your occupation is not exempt from overtime, and ask your employer directly why you were not paid.

If you are sure that you are entitled to overtime that has not been paid and are unable to work out an agreement with your employer directly, your next step is to contact the New Mexico Department of Labor with an unpaid overtime claim form. You can contact the New Mexico Department of Labor office here:

New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions
500 Fourth Street, Suite 403
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Tel. 1-866-4-USWAGE

Document Tags: NM Overtime, New Mexico Overtime Rule, NM Overtime Regulations, State of New Mexico Overtime Laws

Get more info on overtime law Need more information? Find overtime law in other states.