North Carolina Overtime Pay Laws - NC Labor Law - 2015
Overtime pay is additional pay granted to employees who have worked over a certain amount of hours in a given timeframe. Employers in North Carolina must adhere to both federal and state overtime regulations defining how much overtime must be paid, and which employees are entitled to overtime pay.
Non-exempt employees in North Carolina are entitled to overtime pay of 1.5 times their average hourly rate for every hour worked over 40 in a single week. Based on the North Carolina minimum wage of $7.25 per hour, the minimum amount any North Carolina worker should receive as overtime pay is $10.88 per hour.
Some employees are exempt from overtime, and therefore can be asked to work more then 40 hours a week without receiving overtime pay. Some overtime-exempt jobs are specified in federal overtime law, such as most white collar jobs, while other exemptions are specific to North Carolina's state overtime laws.
North Carolina defines a special overtime limit of 45 hours per week for employees at seasonal recreation or amusement businesses (unlike many other states, which completely exempt them from overtime). A variety of occupations are completely exempted from NC's overtime law, including salespeople, learners and students, handicapped workers, domestic employees, models and actors, automobile drivers and mechanics, and white-collar jobs defined under the FLSA. North Carolina also exempts most skilled computer professionals from overtime pay.
North Carolina Overtime Calculator
To calculate your weekly overtime pay, enter your normal hourly wage and the weekly number of hours you worked into the NC overtime calculator. Your overtime pay will then be calculated and displayed.
Unpaid Overtime in North Carolina
If your employer has not paid you overtime and you believe you are entitled to overtime pay for the work you have done, there are steps you can take to ensure that you are paid what you deserve. First check North Carolina state overtime law as well as federal overtime exemptions to ensure that your occupation is not exempt from overtime, and ask your employer directly why you were not paid.
If you are sure that you are entitled to overtime that has not been paid and are unable to work out an agreement with your employer directly, your next step is to contact the North Carolina Department of Labor with an unpaid overtime claim form. You can contact the North Carolina Department of Labor office here:
N.C. Department of Labor
1101 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1101
Tel. (919) 807-2796
Document Tags: NC Overtime, North Carolina Overtime Rule, NC Overtime Regulations, State of North Carolina Overtime Laws
Need more information? Find overtime law in other states.