Oklahoma Overtime Pay Laws - OK Labor Law - 2016
Overtime pay is additional pay granted to employees who have worked over a certain amount of hours in a given timeframe. Employers in Oklahoma must adhere to both federal and state overtime regulations defining how much overtime must be paid, and which employees are entitled to overtime pay.
Non-exempt employees in Oklahoma are entitled to overtime pay of 1.5 times their average hourly rate for every hour worked over 40 in a single week. Based on the Oklahoma minimum wage of $7.25 per hour, the minimum amount any Oklahoma worker should receive as overtime pay is $10.88 per hour.
Some employees are exempt from overtime, and therefore can be asked to work more then 40 hours a week without receiving overtime pay. Some overtime-exempt jobs are specified in federal overtime law, such as most white collar jobs, while other exemptions are specific to Oklahoma's state overtime laws.
Overtime pay of time and one half is paid to non-exempt employees for all hours worked over 40 in the work week. Oklahoma allows compensatory time off to be given instead of time-and-a-half overtime pay (1.5 hours for each overtime hour worked). Other overtime statutes are adopted from the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).
Oklahoma Overtime Calculator
To calculate your weekly overtime pay, enter your normal hourly wage and the weekly number of hours you worked into the OK overtime calculator. Your overtime pay will then be calculated and displayed.
Unpaid Overtime in Oklahoma
If your employer has not paid you overtime and you believe you are entitled to overtime pay for the work you have done, there are steps you can take to ensure that you are paid what you deserve. First check Oklahoma state overtime law as well as federal overtime exemptions to ensure that your occupation is not exempt from overtime, and ask your employer directly why you were not paid.
If you are sure that you are entitled to overtime that has not been paid and are unable to work out an agreement with your employer directly, your next step is to contact the Oklahoma Department of Labor with an unpaid overtime claim form. You can contact the Oklahoma Department of Labor office here:
Document Tags: OK Overtime, Oklahoma Overtime Rule, OK Overtime Regulations, State of Oklahoma Overtime Laws
Need more information? Find overtime law in other states.