Oregon Overtime Pay Laws - OR Labor Law - 2014
Overtime pay is additional pay granted to employees who have worked over a certain amount of hours in a given timeframe. Employers in Oregon must adhere to both federal and state overtime regulations defining how much overtime must be paid, and which employees are entitled to overtime pay.
Non-exempt employees in Oregon are entitled to overtime pay of 1.5 times their average hourly rate for every hour worked over 40 in a single week. Based on the Oregon minimum wage of $9.10 per hour, the minimum amount any Oregon worker should receive as overtime pay is $13.65 per hour.
Some employees are exempt from overtime, and therefore can be asked to work more then 40 hours a week without receiving overtime pay. Some overtime-exempt jobs are specified in federal overtime law, such as most white collar jobs, while other exemptions are specific to Oregon's state overtime laws.
Oregon has special overtime rules for workers in packing plants, logging camps, canneries, mills, driers, and factories. A variety of people are exempted from overtime in Oregon, including those who work as fishermen, work for commission, or work in the computer industry and earn over $27.63 per hour.
Additional labor law prevents hospitals from requiring nurses to work over 12 hours a day or over 40 hours a week, although they can if they choose to. There are no limits on how much overtime can be required from any other type of worker.
Oregon Overtime Calculator
To calculate your weekly overtime pay, enter your normal hourly wage and the weekly number of hours you worked into the OR overtime calculator. Your overtime pay will then be calculated and displayed.
Unpaid Overtime in Oregon
If your employer has not paid you overtime and you believe you are entitled to overtime pay for the work you have done, there are steps you can take to ensure that you are paid what you deserve. First check Oregon state overtime law as well as federal overtime exemptions to ensure that your occupation is not exempt from overtime, and ask your employer directly why you were not paid.
If you are sure that you are entitled to overtime that has not been paid and are unable to work out an agreement with your employer directly, your next step is to contact the Oregon Department of Labor with an unpaid overtime claim form. You can contact the Oregon Department of Labor office here:
Oregon Employment Department
875 Union St.
NE Salem 97311
Document Tags: OR Overtime, Oregon Overtime Rule, OR Overtime Regulations, State of Oregon Overtime Laws
Need more information? Find overtime law in other states.