TX overtime laws 2014 Texas Overtime Pay Laws - TX Labor Law - 2014

Overtime pay is additional pay granted to employees who have worked over a certain amount of hours in a given timeframe. Employers in Texas must adhere to both federal and state overtime regulations defining how much overtime must be paid, and which employees are entitled to overtime pay.

Non-exempt employees in Texas are entitled to overtime pay of 1.5 times their average hourly rate for every hour worked over 40 in a single week. Based on the Texas minimum wage of $7.25 per hour, the minimum amount any Texas worker should receive as overtime pay is $10.88 per hour.

Some employees are exempt from overtime, and therefore can be asked to work more then 40 hours a week without receiving overtime pay. Some overtime-exempt jobs are specified in federal overtime law, such as most white collar jobs, while other exemptions are specific to Texas's state overtime laws.

Additional labor laws in Texas set special overtime rules for medical nurses. Hospitals are not permitted to require a nurse to work mandatory overtime hours, although they can work overtime if they so choose. There are no limits on overtime worked by any other type of employee.

Texas Overtime Calculator

Hours Worked:
Hourly Wage:
Texas Overtime Calculator Tool

To calculate your weekly overtime pay, enter your normal hourly wage and the weekly number of hours you worked into the TX overtime calculator. Your overtime pay will then be calculated and displayed.

Unpaid Overtime in Texas

If your employer has not paid you overtime and you believe you are entitled to overtime pay for the work you have done, there are steps you can take to ensure that you are paid what you deserve. First check Texas state overtime law as well as federal overtime exemptions to ensure that your occupation is not exempt from overtime, and ask your employer directly why you were not paid.

If you are sure that you are entitled to overtime that has not been paid and are unable to work out an agreement with your employer directly, your next step is to contact the Texas Department of Labor with an unpaid overtime claim form. You can contact the Texas Department of Labor office here:

DOL, Austin Office
101 E 15th Room 330
Austin, TX 78701
Tel. 512-463-3642

Document Tags: TX Overtime, Texas Overtime Rule, TX Overtime Regulations, State of Texas Overtime Laws

Get more info on overtime law Need more information? Find overtime law in other states.