Washington Overtime Pay Laws - WA Labor Law - 2015
Overtime pay is additional pay granted to employees who have worked over a certain amount of hours in a given timeframe. Employers in Washington must adhere to both federal and state overtime regulations defining how much overtime must be paid, and which employees are entitled to overtime pay.
Non-exempt employees in Washington are entitled to overtime pay of 1.5 times their average hourly rate for every hour worked over 40 in a single week. Based on the Washington minimum wage of $9.32 per hour, the minimum amount any Washington worker should receive as overtime pay is $13.98 per hour.
Some employees are exempt from overtime, and therefore can be asked to work more then 40 hours a week without receiving overtime pay. Some overtime-exempt jobs are specified in federal overtime law, such as most white collar jobs, while other exemptions are specific to Washington's state overtime laws.
Washington establishes special overtime rules for several occupations. Commissioned salespeople must be paid a fat hourly rate plus overtime for all hours worked over 40 in a single week only if the overtime pay they receive would be higher then any salary plus commission they would receive otherwise. Retail employees may work over 40 hours a week if they earn at least 1 1/2 times the minimum wage per hour, and earn 50% or more of their compensation in commission. Truck drivers are guaranteed overtime compensation for all hours worked over 40 in a week, including out-of-state work. Finally, additional labor law prevents hospitals or medical workplaces from requiring that nurses work overtime hours (although they can if they choose to).
A variety of employees are completely exempted from overtime pay, including many farm laborers, domestic workers, outside salespeople, newspaper deliverers, some truck and bus drivers, and sailors.
Washington Overtime Calculator
To calculate your weekly overtime pay, enter your normal hourly wage and the weekly number of hours you worked into the WA overtime calculator. Your overtime pay will then be calculated and displayed.
Unpaid Overtime in Washington
If your employer has not paid you overtime and you believe you are entitled to overtime pay for the work you have done, there are steps you can take to ensure that you are paid what you deserve. First check Washington state overtime law as well as federal overtime exemptions to ensure that your occupation is not exempt from overtime, and ask your employer directly why you were not paid.
If you are sure that you are entitled to overtime that has not been paid and are unable to work out an agreement with your employer directly, your next step is to contact the Washington Department of Labor with an unpaid overtime claim form. You can contact the Washington Department of Labor office here:
Washington State Department of Labor
PO Box 44000
Olympia, WA 98504-4000
Document Tags: WA Overtime, Washington Overtime Rule, WA Overtime Regulations, State of Washington Overtime Laws
Need more information? Find overtime law in other states.