Wisconsin Overtime Pay Laws - WI Labor Law - 2016
Overtime pay is additional pay granted to employees who have worked over a certain amount of hours in a given timeframe. Employers in Wisconsin must adhere to both federal and state overtime regulations defining how much overtime must be paid, and which employees are entitled to overtime pay.
Non-exempt employees in Wisconsin are entitled to overtime pay of 1.5 times their average hourly rate for every hour worked over 40 in a single week. Based on the Wisconsin minimum wage of $7.25 per hour, the minimum amount any Wisconsin worker should receive as overtime pay is $10.88 per hour.
Some employees are exempt from overtime, and therefore can be asked to work more then 40 hours a week without receiving overtime pay. Some overtime-exempt jobs are specified in federal overtime law, such as most white collar jobs, while other exemptions are specific to Wisconsin's state overtime laws.
Overtime in Wisconsin is given to all covered workers who work more than 40 hours per week. They must be paid time and one-half their regular rate of pay. Wisconsin exempts a variety of occupations from overtime pay completely, including the following:
- administrative, executive or professional employees;
- outside salespersons;
- commission employees of retail and service establishments;
- drivers, driver's helpers, loaders or mechanics covered by the Motor Carrier Act;
- employees of rail and air carriers;
- taxicab drivers;
- vehicle salespersons, and partspersons or mechanics servicing the vehicles;
- seasonal employees of recreational and amusement establishments;
- movie theater employees;
- commission-only real estate agents or salespersons;
- crop dusters;
- poultry inspectors;
- hospital employees;
- funeral home employees;
- drivers and drivers' helpers who make local deliveries;
- employees of independent contractors; and
- home newspaper delivery or direct retail sale.
Wisconsin Overtime Calculator
To calculate your weekly overtime pay, enter your normal hourly wage and the weekly number of hours you worked into the WI overtime calculator. Your overtime pay will then be calculated and displayed.
Unpaid Overtime in Wisconsin
If your employer has not paid you overtime and you believe you are entitled to overtime pay for the work you have done, there are steps you can take to ensure that you are paid what you deserve. First check Wisconsin state overtime law as well as federal overtime exemptions to ensure that your occupation is not exempt from overtime, and ask your employer directly why you were not paid.
If you are sure that you are entitled to overtime that has not been paid and are unable to work out an agreement with your employer directly, your next step is to contact the Wisconsin Department of Labor with an unpaid overtime claim form. You can contact the Wisconsin Department of Labor office here:
Document Tags: WI Overtime, Wisconsin Overtime Rule, WI Overtime Regulations, State of Wisconsin Overtime Laws
Need more information? Find overtime law in other states.